Norway 24/09-1/10/2014 PT 7

Early morning I thanked Jacob for his hospitality and company and headed towards the airport even though my flight was departing at about 7pm.

I learned there was a big climbing area 15 minutes walk away from the airport so I wanted to have a look at least.

I dropped my big backpack at the airport and headed to Hell just with my rope bag.

image

As I was looking for the crag, I found some rock carvings which are about 6,500 years old according to the information board next to them. They are showing couple of deers or moose and few smaller carvings.

image

Rock carvings in Hell

Unfortunately, without a guide book or any map whats or ever, I wasn’t lucky enough to find the actual crag. However,  I found a smaller rock face about 12 meters high that looked easy enough to climb to attempt climbing it solo (without rope or any backup). And so, in the end, I did at least one climb outdoors in Norway.

image

The view from my little climb

image

The view from the other side of my little climb

I sat up there for a while, enjoying the sun, thinking what a shame it wasn’t like that the whole time. But then I told myself of for being ungrateful. I got to see the beautiful Norway, the northern lights, great fjords. I got to climb there, both inside and outside, do lot of hiking and meet many nice people. Who cares it was raining 90% of my time and I was carrying 27 kg of climbing gear uselessly? It was an adventure and that’s what I am after. It was worth every minute I spent there. Life is not full of sun, fluffy clouds and unicorns feeding on rainbows. Well, if it was, the most unicorns would be in Norway xD.

image

An epic goodbye

Leave a comment